Le portail officiel :Ville de MontréalAccueilMon dossierAideEnglish
Site Web du Réseau des bibliothèques publiques de MontréalCatalogue Nelligan :  Toutes les collections – Adultes et Jeunes
 

Réserver ce titre Ajouter à vos coups de coeur Ajouter au panier Retourner à la liste Nouvelle recherche
 
 
 

 
     
Limiter la recherche aux exemplaires disponibles

 
     
 
Titre The weight of ink / Rachel Kadish.
Auteur Kadish, Rachel, 1969- author.
Éditeur Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2017.
Résultat Titre précédent Titre suivant  
 
Genre Historical fiction
Sujet anglais Women historians -- Fiction
Jewish women -- Fiction
Manuscripts -- Collectors and collecting -- Fiction
Scribes, Jewish -- Fiction
Women -- England -- Social life and customs -- 17th century -- Fiction
Great Plague, London, England, 1664-1666 -- Fiction
London (England) -- Social life and customs -- 17th century -- Fiction
London (England) -- Intellectual life -- 17th century -- Fiction
Great Britain -- History -- 1660-1714 -- Fiction
Genre Romans historiques
Sujet français Historiennes -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Juives -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Manuscrits -- Collectionneurs et collections -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Scribes juifs -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Femmes -- Angleterre -- Conditions sociales -- 17e siècle -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Grande peste, Londres, Angleterre, 1664-1666 -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Londres (Angleterre) -- Mœurs et coutumes -- 17e siècle -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Londres (Angleterre) -- Vie intellectuelle -- 17e siècle -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Grande-Bretagne -- Histoire -- 1660-1714 -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Description 567 pages ; 24 cm.
Résumé "An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, anemigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive"Aleph."Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must makein order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"-- Provided by publisher.
Note locale RA 2017-10-28
ISBN 9780544866461 (hardcover)
   
   
 
Bibliothèque Note Cote Statut
 BENNY - Adultes - Romans  COLL. ANGL.  KAD Rac we  RETOUR 20-12-07
 L'ÎLE-BIZARD - Adultes - Romans  COLL. ANGL.  F KAD  EN TRANSIT
 SAUL-BELLOW - Adultes - Romans    KAD Rac we  RETOUR 20-12-08
 
 
 
   
    Résultat Titre précédent Titre suivant

 
 
  Crédit, bandeau Nelligan :
Roseline Granet, Monument à Émile Nelligan (2005).
Square Saint-Louis, arrondissement du Plateau-Mont-Royal, ©Ville de Montréal 2006.