Le portail officiel :Ville de MontréalAccueilMon dossierAideEnglish
Site Web du Réseau des bibliothèques publiques de MontréalCatalogue Nelligan :  Toutes les collections – Adultes et Jeunes
 

Réserver ce titre Ajouter à vos coups de coeur Ajouter au panier Retourner à la liste Limiter / Trier la recherche Nouvelle recherche
 
 
 

 
     
Limiter la recherche aux exemplaires disponibles

 
     
 
Titre The boat people / Sharon Bala.
Auteur Bala, Sharon, author
Éditeur Toronto : McClelland & Stewart, [2018]
Notice 13 de 72
Résultat Titre précédent Titre suivant
 
 
Genre Political fiction
Legal stories
Sujet anglais Boat people -- Sri Lanka -- Fiction
Political refugees -- Fiction
Refugees -- Canada -- Fiction
Sri Lankans -- Canada -- Fiction
Immigration enforcement -- British Columbia -- Fiction
Lawyers -- British Columbia -- Fiction
National security -- Canada -- Fiction
Sri Lanka -- History -- Civil war, 1983-2009 -- Fiction
British Columbia -- Fiction
Genre Politiques-fictions
Romans judiciaires
Sujet français Réfugiés de la mer -- Sri Lanka -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Réfugiés politiques -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Réfugiés -- Canada -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Sri-Lankais -- Canada -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Émigration et immigration -- Lois -- Application -- Colombie-Britannique -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Avocats -- Colombie-Britannique -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Sécurité nationale -- Canada -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Sri Lanka -- Histoire -- 1983-2009 (Guerre civile) -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Colombie-Britannique -- Romans, nouvelles, etc.
Description 401 pages ; 21 cm.
Résumé "In the tradition of Lawrence Hill's The Illegal, Chris Cleave's Little Bee, and Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner, and inspired by a real incident, this high-stakes and increasingly timely novel powerfully evokes what it means to leave behind everything you have ever known to seek out a better life in a strange land. When the rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and 500 fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches the shores of British Columbia, the young father believes the struggles that he and his six-year-old son have long faced are finally over. But their journey has only just begun. The group is thrown into a detention processing centre, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among "the boat people" are members of a separtist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these insurgents now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees are subjected to heavy interrogation, Mahindan fears that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan-Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese-Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis. Set in Vancouver, with riveting scenes in civil war-torn Sri Lanka, the novel asks difficult but necessary questions that will continue to be relevant as the world-wide crisis remains a reality for years to come."-- Provided by publisher.
ISBN 9780771024290 (softcover)
   
   
 
Bibliothèque Note Cote Statut
 AHUNTSIC - Adultes - Romans  COLL. ANGL.  BAL Sha bo  DISPONIBLE
 BENNY - Adultes - Romans  COLL. ANGL.  BAL Sha bo  We Recommend  PERDU ET PAYÉ
 DU BOISÉ - Adultes - Romans  COLL. ANGL.  BAL Sha bo  RETOUR 20-10-04
 J-DE REPENTIGNY - Adultes - Romans    BAL Sha bo  DISPONIBLE
 L'ÎLE-DES-SOEURS - Adultes - Romans    BAL Sha bo  DISPONIBLE
 L'OCTOGONE - Adultes - Romans    BAL Sha bo  DISPONIBLE
 MARC-FAVREAU - Adultes - Romans  COLL. ANGL.  BAL Sha bo  DISPONIBLE
 MARIE-UGUAY - Adultes - Romans  COLL. ANGL.  BAL Sha bo  DISPONIBLE
 MORDECAI-RICHLER - Adultes - Romans  COLL. ANGL.  BAL Sha bo  DISPONIBLE
 PIERREFONDS - Adultes - Romans  COLL. ANGL.  BAL Sha bo  DISPONIBLE

 
 
 
   
   
Notice 13 de 72
Résultat Titre précédent Titre suivant

 
 
  Crédit, bandeau Nelligan :
Roseline Granet, Monument à Émile Nelligan (2005).
Square Saint-Louis, arrondissement du Plateau-Mont-Royal, ©Ville de Montréal 2006.